Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

How To Add Laptop To Secure Wireless Router

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Rellik

Rellik

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:04 PM

Posted 03 August 2008 - 10:37 AM

Hi all,

Iím a newbie here at BleepingComputer looking for some help with connecting my laptop to my wireless router.

The storyís a little convoluted but here goes;

I just moved from my old home to a new home. At the old location, I had two laptops hardwired to my wireless router with a desktop computer in another room connecting via wireless.

At the time of the original setup, because I struggled with the settings of securing the router, I had a savvy computer person handle it remotely via WinVNC. All worked well after that, no problems.

Now I have moved to a new home and have the same computers setup in the reverse order with regard to their connection points. IE: I have the desktop computer hardwired to the router, and I want the laptop (Iím down to just one of the two original laptops) to connect to the router via wireless but of course itís (the router) secured from the original setup.

I understand that Iíll probably have to access the routerís settings somehow and add the laptopís IP address so it will interface with the router? If so, I donít have any idea where to start.