Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Is There A Way?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 jase_chiu

jase_chiu

• Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:32 AM

Posted 02 August 2008 - 04:36 PM

I need to fix an old Dell Laptop for a friend. Since I am not very good with laptops I thought of asking suggestions in here.

Ok, This laptop don't have a CD ROM drive, Just have floppy drive which is no good to me. The OS (windows 95) is corrupt and won't boot, just stops in the middle with the windows 95 screen and freezes. I don't have floppy disks with windows 95/98. I am not sure how to install a fresh copy of windows 98 without a CD ROM Drive. Is there a way to connect a CD ROM Drive externally?

Any thoughts, anyone????

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 56,546 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:32 AM

Posted 02 August 2008 - 05:56 PM

Connecting it is one thing...getting it to boot is another obstacle. I used to have an external CD-ROM drive, but I don't believe that it functioned without Windows.

A system that won't boot, has Win 95 and no CD...now, there's the challenge of the day :thumbsup:.

Sorry, I cannot think of anything other than using those horrible floppies they had back then for Win 95/98.

Now don't tell us there's no floppy either...

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q191054/

Louis

#3 Sneakycyber