Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

New, In The Wild, Highly Destructive

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Diable

Diable

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:57 AM

Posted 31 July 2008 - 08:58 AM

I am a technician for a nationwide, onsite system support & repair company and encountered this yesterday at a customer site. Following is a copy of what I already advised the other Techs, Kaspersky Labs, & Avert.

Iím advising everyone that today I encountered a new, in the wild, virus that is incredibly destructive. It is known to get past Symantec & Norton AV products, Iím unsure as to how others may fare against it as weíll never know who getís it, and who doesnít unless they have another PC available to them.

This what the client described to me:

ďThere was a window that popped up stating I was infected with lots of bad viruses, it wasnít from my Symantec Antivirus, it was different. Before I could close the window, or click on the buttons I started getting all kinds of popups from Internet Explorer, which I never had a problem with before. As I tried to close the popup windows, and the one telling me I was infected.. the computer rebooted and came up with this blue screenĒ

What I found: