Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Need To Dump Files To Make Room...what And How To ?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Speedway73

Speedway73

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:58 PM

Posted 27 July 2008 - 04:26 PM

Newbie here....I went to defrag this morning and discoverd I only have 4.37GB out of 37.27GB of free space left. I need to dump some unused or files to make space. Is this as easy as deleting old jpeg pics and mpeg clips?? Any ideas or suggestions of what to look for to dump??

Thanks,

Roger

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 mme

mme

• Members
  • 400 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:58 PM

Posted 27 July 2008 - 04:41 PM

programs that you do use or need anymore
you can run disk clean up

Click Start button
then All Programs
Click ok Run
type this in
cleanmgr
Press ok

put check in all boxes except Program Files
click ok
and confirm delete

if you want more space you can gain it from system restore

Start>>>Control Panel>>System>>>System Restore Tab>>Slide The slider Back to About 3% Click Ok

If you dont see slider then Click on the drive in the box >>>it should be C:drive then click on settings

The Slider should show >>Slide it back to 3% >>>Click apply and Ok to close

you could also run CleanUp
download it from this site
you will gain a consider amoutable space