Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Oof -- How Do I Start? What It Is And What It Ain't

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 machiner

machiner

• Members
  • 56 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:47 AM

Posted 15 July 2008 - 10:40 AM

Hi everyone. I'm new here but have been using and teaching Linux for some time. Please understand that I'm no expert - at all, but I am here to help. Pardon the long-winded introduction ;)

I read posts constantly web-wide about how hard Linux is and about the mysticism that seems to surround it. Additionally, people attribute those using Linux with all sorts of character flaws like being a "cracker", a terrorist, general malcontent, etc., etc., etc. You get the idea. Of course, this is slowly changing but it's really only doing so by attaching a monetary value to it. Towit, BestBuy now sells Ubuntu for 20 beans. People respect that a lot more than their ability to download it for themselves. Ya, kills me, too, but that's just how it is. Buy Linux = responsible consumer (actually, I'm a citizen), downloading it = creepy kid up to no good.