Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Newbie: Sowar.vbs - Help!

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Amaya Bajaratt

Amaya Bajaratt

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:48 PM

Posted 12 July 2008 - 11:39 AM

hi i'm a newbie here and a bummer when it comes to viruses, trojans, whatever. i came across another problem again. may u pls extend help? here goes:

i am usually very careful with removable medias but last night, somebody used a flash drive in my laptop without my approval so i have now a, i guess a worm..

when i turned on my unit, it doesn't seem to have a prob actually, but when a pirated cd began to lag, i usually end this process using task manager. but lo and behold, my task manager is disabled. so i went to Run and keyed in cmd, typed c:\>dir /ahs and found a sowar.vbs in the list. i tried running regedit to delete files which ends in vbs, but it was also disabled!

i am using semantec's av. it did detect the virus last night actually but wasn't able to destroy it, whatsoever. and i can't even update my virus definition now. my OS is windows xp sp 2.

Please HELP!! thanks a lot and God bless! :thumbsup:

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 quietman7

quietman7

Bleepin' Janitor

• Global Moderator
  • 51,128 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:48 AM

Posted 12 July 2008 - 02:21 PM