Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Programming Languages

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Giant9

Giant9

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:11 PM

Posted 10 July 2008 - 01:35 PM

I am completely new to programming (like god knows how many others here) have been lurking this site a few days, and it looks really useful. Can anyone help me with picking up a programming language? What is the best way (or at least a few good ways) to start? I want something that will be useful long-term instead of just something I can pick up very easily/quickly, although if that is a necessary step along the way, I'm willing to do it that way.

Also, I'd like to compile a simple comparative list of languages, for my own use and for others. The ones I know exist are:
C++
Python
VB
Java

This can't be comprehensive, so could you guys give me some help? Appreciated.

AA Ries

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 nigglesnush85

nigglesnush85

• Members
  • 4,371 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:11 AM

Posted 10 July 2008 - 04:41 PM

Hello Giant9 and welcome,

You are correct there are many programming languages http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_programming_languages will give some indication of how vast the area is.

I would recommend an object orientated language see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_progr...based_languages