Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

My Computer Can't Scan My External Hard Disk

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 daight

daight

• Members
  • 24 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:16 PM

Posted 09 July 2008 - 09:02 AM

Hi,Im new here,and im a newbie for computer thing,

My computer can't scan my external hard disk.Recently my hard disk have been auto-disconnecting,i did not bother,i just switch off the hard disk and switch on back.and when i did,it work,but after awhile,theres a error.
I cant remember the sentence but it roughly mean that 'failed to copy(or overwrite) G:\%mft ' and it will just disconnect again.
and when i switch off and on again,the 'safety remove hardware' will appeared,my device manager will state that theres another drive,when i click the properties of the drive,the status there write 'This device is working properly.
' but i cannot see any drive besides my C&D drive.and after awhile,the 'safety remove hardware' will be gone and my device manager will say that there is no other drive.
And when the 'safety remove hardware' is still there,90% of the time my explorer.exe will be not responding.
i tried to plug it in directly in my computer,but when i do so,my whole computer will be not responding.
can my external hard disk still be fixed? :thumbsup:

Sorry my english not so good.