Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Problem with XP Professional and my e-mail application

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 kharybdis

kharybdis

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:04 PM

Posted 11 April 2005 - 01:50 AM

Hi, folks.

I've been running Windows XP Professional for a couple of years, and in the past few months, I've had problems with my system launching my e-mail application (sometimes several instances of it) for no reason.

I ran Ad Aware and Spybot Search & Destroy on the system, and found nothing that should have caused this behavior.

Eventually, since there were a few other problems (notably with IE), I archived my important files and put them on another machine and then reinstalled Windows XP Professional. I figured this would create a fresh starting point for the machine and eliminate the problems I had been having.

I installed Mozilla's Firefox and Thunderbird programs, having grown to like them more than IE and Outlook. However, now my system has periodically begun to launch 1-4 instances of Mozilla Thunderbird for no apparent reason. I have not yet reloaded the archived files onto the machine, so I can't imagine what could be causing this behavior.

Can anyone help?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 phawgg

phawgg

Learning Daily

• Members
  • 4,543 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:04 PM