Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Disappearing Hard Drive Space?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Poonage

Poonage

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:08 AM

Posted 28 June 2008 - 04:02 PM

Hey, im a bit new to all of this so please bear with me... :thumbsup:

Recently i've noticed that the space on my local hard drive has been slowly decreasing for no apparent reason, even when there are no programs running.

I literally sat down and continued to click on it, only to find the space decreasing by 1mb every now and then.

I downloaded and ran combofix because a friend of mine advised me to, and the guide to running combofix directed me here as one of the places i should come to once i have the log.

i've run combofix a number of times, as it has so far managed to clear up all the space that this unknown 'thing' has gobbled up, although now im getting slightly fed up at having to deal with this, so id much rather seek out the root of the problem.

i will gladly post the log i got from the last time i ran combofix, but i dont want to post it straight off with my first post because its against the rules to post one without it bein requested... so i shall just sit here eagerly awaiting any feedback.

If theres anything i need to do prior to receiving assistance, id happily take the necessary steps!

cheers, chris.