Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Error Loading Operating System Using Vista (64bit)

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Flifo

Flifo

• Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:19 PM

Posted 22 June 2008 - 10:47 AM

I'm a novice with a newly built PC having boot up problems with Windows Vista 64 OEM version OS.
My System
EVGA 750i FTW MB- Intel Q6700 Duo core quad CPU- 4 GB Ram- Samsung 750MB SATA HDD- 2 Optical Drives SATA- EVGA 9800GTX Video card- Zalman CPU Cooler- 800W PSU- Vista Home Premium 64Bit.

Initial config
Checked & set up BIOS Boot priority & then loaded Wind XP 32Bit OS. Once the proper hardware drivers were loaded, I was using this PC with no errors for about a week, until the Vista software arrived at which time I loaded Vista. First thing I noticed during Vista install was only the custom install was available, not the upgrade option. I then partitioned hard drive into 2 primary partitions (C: & D:) & continued the install of Vista to C: - no problems, that I can recall :huh: