Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Disable Windows Media Player?

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Elamdri

Elamdri

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:44 PM

Posted 07 April 2005 - 08:36 AM

Hi, I work as a teacher for a junior high school. I teach in the computer labs and im having a problem with the students playing music and streaming songs of the internet. I was wondering if their was anyway for me to disable the computers so that they could not use the media player, but without completely uninstalling it. I have administrator acess to the computers. Each student has a personal login on the network that we use at the school.

Edited by Elamdri, 07 April 2005 - 08:37 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Grinler

Grinler

Lawrence Abrams

• Admin
  • 43,640 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:44 PM

Posted 07 April 2005 - 01:35 PM

Unfortunately i do not believe there is a way other than uninstalling the app. Or using a content filtering device.

#3 Elamdri

Elamdri
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  

Posted 07 April 2005 - 10:56 PM

*sigh*

I was afraid of this. Alright, well thank you anyway. I appreciate it.

#4 bradly

bradly

• Deactivated
  • 48 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:44 PM

Posted 07 April 2005 - 11:53 PM

Technically, YES you can:

1. Log in as Administrator.

2. Start - Run - "cmd" - and hit Enter.