Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows Explorer Stops Responding, Forced To Reboot...

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Tiit_Helimut

Tiit_Helimut

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:13 AM

Posted 17 June 2008 - 01:24 PM

Hi there. I'm new to bleeping computer so I'll try to explain as best I can the problem that I'm having.

Yesterday while using Microsoft word, my laptop (Dell Vostro 1700) stopped responding. The weird thing was that I was able to move the mouse still, though clicking on things did nothing, and winamp was still running and playing music. Nothing else was responding though, I couldn't Alt-Tab to anything, Alt-F4 didn't work, neither did the windows button, Ctrl-Esc didn't work and even Ctrl-Alt-Del had no effect. In the end I was forced to power down the laptop by holding the power button down. Restarted fine and a few hours later it did the same thing, so this time I used the stop button (on the front of my laptop) which stopped winamp from playing music. When I did this the mouse stopped responding so I couldn't even move it around and I was again forced to power down the laptop.

My specs are:
------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 6/17/2008, 19:04:04
Machine name: MONSTERMACHINE