Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Adware Help Needed

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 durian123

durian123

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:04 PM

Posted 10 June 2008 - 06:58 PM

Hi, I am a newbie, and so Hi, to everyone, especially those who are hopefully going to help resolve my problem!
My wife has a blog and when she accesses it lately, it has a popunder window from adserving.cpxinteractive.com
Some other people have mentioned this to her as well.
I have tried removing all javascript links from her blog, and it is no good. So, I have guessed that it must be in the PC here using XP.
I have found some older forum posts on this site regarding this, but the removal information links are out of date, or the particular issue is slightly different, although the pesky site is the same.
If I use a spare never really used XP operating system on another partition, all is well, no popunder.
If I use IE instead of firefox, no prob. , even on this main XP partition.
If I disable Javascript in firefox, again, no prob, except that I need it enabled for other websites.
I should explain that I have no idea what a hijackthis log is, so please keep it simple, - thanks.