Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Persistanct Virus - Pws.ldpinchie And Win32.tiny.abk

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 CyberLost

CyberLost

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:45 AM

Posted 06 June 2008 - 02:41 AM

Hello all, I am new to this sort of thing and new to this site.

I was impressed by what I read in your forums and figured I should ask for some specific help

my system: Dell Latitude C800, PIII-850MHz 256MB ram 32Gig (15.5 GIG used/ 14.2 GIG Free)

Running: Win 2000 Pro SP4

firewall: Zonealarm ver 4.5.538.001

Antivirus: AVG 7.5 Free
Antispy: AVG antispyware Free

Recently converted to a lite DSL connection (loggin req'd for access)

although it didn't dawn on me at the time, a lot of problems with the connection software may have been the tip off.

every time I reboot or shut down / start up the system I would have to reinstall the connection software.

In the couple of days prior to total meltdown, many programs were just not working right.

Finally got so bad the system would not start up.

Got some help from a pro, by getting into safe mode with command prompt it was possible to have access to the system.

The fellow installed ViRoot ver 4.0, and spybot S&D and seemed to get the thing fixed (many viruses caught and removed).