Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hello From Rural New Jersey

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Andrew Koenig

Andrew Koenig

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:51 AM

Posted 05 June 2008 - 11:35 AM

I'm probably a little unusual on this forum:

I've been using computers since 1967, when a large data center was needed to contain a computer with about as much functionality as an embedded chip on a wristwatch these days.

I worked at AT&T for 26 years, in the various incarnations and fragments of Bell Labs, until I retired 5 years ago. During that time I was deeply involved in developing and standardizing the C++ programming language. I was the project editor -- the person who "held the pen" -- for both the 1998 and 2003 C++ standards. I also wrote or co-wrote three books about C or C++, as well as a few book chapters and nearly 200 technical articles.

So I know a fair amount about C++. I've also worked in a number of other programming languages, and had my hands in the Unix operating system kernel for a while.