Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Can't Open Excel 2003 (pc) Files With Excel 2008 (mac)

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_mattbronson_*

Guest_mattbronson_*

• Guests
  •  

Posted 27 May 2008 - 11:49 AM

Hi, I'm fairly new to Macs and have installed the MS Office suite for Mac (2008). No arguments with the look and functionality of the packages standalone but when someone sends me an Excel file from an earlier version (2003) I cannot open it my Mac.

Any ideas? Is there a patch/fix that I may be missing?

Thanks

Matt

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hillbillygreek

hillbillygreek

• Members
  • 397 posts
  •  

Posted 28 May 2008 - 12:06 AM

Since you are new to this, you may want to start here >> Help & How To Excel

Main page here >> Help & How-To Mactopia

Edit: Sorry if I sounded dismissive.

Edited by hillbillygreek, 28 May 2008 - 12:33 AM.

#3 Guest_mattbronson_*

Guest_mattbronson_*

• Guests
  •  

Posted 25 June 2008 - 06:43 AM

I'm sorry but I've had a look through those links and can't see anything that resembles the problems I'm having with opening MS Office files. It seems that only some PC created Excel files (the majority) do not open on the Mac.