Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Introductory Post

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 wadeeb

wadeeb

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:52 PM

Posted 22 May 2008 - 01:36 AM

Hello happy board members,

I am new to bleeping computers dot com but from what I can tell this is going to be a great experience and a valuable tool.

Currently I am working in Indonesia for a non-profit group involved in Human Rights work.

I am the IT support for the project and right now actually I am in Papua, not Papua new Guinea but Papua.
We are a small grass roots project with a couple of field teams which have a few computers each. It is a very different ballgame here with malware and virus problems as there are lots of 'local' virus' that are very effective at spreading via flash drive and slow internet. Most people here do not have internet at home.

Besides that I have had a computer at home since the IBM pc and MSDOS days, our first one was an AT 8088 (with a turbo switch under the front case) old school.

I have been tweaking in earnest for a few years now and find it a constant challenge and enjoyment

I also hold a degree in Computer Engineering Technology. This really opened up a new world to me as we worked with C++ and assembly and did a lot of computer interfacing along with robotics. Very cool stuff