Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I Want To Learn How To Program

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 kesselrunner12

kesselrunner12

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:35 PM

Posted 16 May 2008 - 06:28 PM

HI, I am a Nursing student and am off on summer break. I am a wannabe computer geek as well and I want to spend the summer learning a programming language, but I can't decide which one i should focus on. I am considering either C++ or Visual Basic. If any one can give me their opinion I would appreciate it. I want to do this more for personal satisfaction and to become more intimately knowledgable of the inner workings of computers than to become a professional programmer. Thanks!

Edit: Moved topic from General Chat to the more appropriate forum. ~ Animal

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Alan-LB

Alan-LB

• Members
  • 71 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:35 PM

Posted 16 May 2008 - 07:57 PM

I personally would suggest Java. It is a development from C and C++ though it is a separate language. Java is very portable - that is, your programs would run under a number of different operating systems. Java is also a very good language for network and internet programming.