I could not find any info on bpi54.sys so I erring on the side of caution, I suspect it was probably related to a new rootkit component. Rootkits
are very dangerous
because they use advanced techniques as a means of accessing a computer system that bypasses security mechanisms and steal sensitive information which they send back to the hacker. Many rootkits can hook into the Windows 32-bit kernel, and patch several APIs to hide new registry keys and files they install. Remote attackers use backdoor Trojans and rootkits as part of an exploit to gain unauthorized access to a computer and take control of it without your knowledge.
As a precaution you should do the following:
If your computer was used for online banking, has credit card information or other sensitive data on it all passwords should be changed immediately
to include those used for banking, email, eBay, paypal and online forums. You should consider them to be compromised
. They should be changed by using a different computer and not the infected one. If not, an attacker may get the new passwords and transaction information. Banking and credit card institutions should be notified of the possible security breach. Because your computer was probably compromised please read How Do I Handle Possible Identify Theft, Internet Fraud and CC Fraud?
Many experts in the security community believe that once infected with this type of malware, the best course of action is to wipe the drive clean, reformat and reinstall the OS. Please read "When should I re-format? How should I reinstall?
", "Help: I Got Hacked. Now What Do I Do?
" and "Reformatting the computer or troubleshooting; which is best?
Some types of malware can result in a system so badly damaged that a Repair Install will NOT help!
. Reinstalling Windows without first wiping the entire hard drive with a repartition and/or format will not remove the infection. The reinstall will only overwrite the Windows files. Any malware on the system will still be there afterwards. Starting over by wiping your drive, reformatting, and performing a clean install of the OS removes everything and is the safest action