Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Need Advice - Graphics Card For Two Very Different Gamers!

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 midwest_mongoose

midwest_mongoose

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:56 AM

Posted 12 May 2008 - 12:30 PM

I do want to point out that I have in fact read Toms Hardware's graphics card article, but I'm NOT technically inclined, and I think the cards listed are way over my head.

After the Xbox and the computer died in the same week, my husband and I have decided to consolidate and do all gaming on the computer. We will be buying a new one, probably used or rebuilt, and I need to know what kind of graphics cards will best serve both of us. My husband likes shooter games like Half-Life and the like, but I play more casual games like The Sims 2 and City Life. Is there a card that can fill both of these needs? We are not hardcore gamers by any means, so we need little more than the bare minimum to run these games. Amazing 3-D grpahics are not that important, we just want the games to run decently, which they wouldn't on our old comuter.

The computer we are considering has an nvidia 8400 GS card - is that enough to run both or these kinds of games smoothly? If not, how much higher do we need to go for a mid-level experience?