Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Am I Infected?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Tim1971

Tim1971

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:30 AM

Posted 04 May 2008 - 11:37 AM

I am new to this, please be gentle! I have a HP with Windows XP. I have Earthlink DSL and use McAfee for protection. When I turn on my computer and it boots up my Desk Top goes to a blue background with a warning Spyware detected on your computer! Install a antivirus or spyware remover to clean your computer. I have run Microsoft, Mcafee and Earthlink and cannot get rid of this message. If a click on properties and go to Desktop and click on a different Background picture it works until I start my computer up again and then it's there again. I also have a problem with my screensaver. I have some sort of a blackster bug program, that I don't know how it got there, that will run until I change to something else, but when I start my computer up again it will take over again. The screen saver program is Bugs! by Peters Productions but I cannot get rid of it! HELP!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 SpySentinel

SpySentinel

• Staff Emeritus
  • 2,090 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:30 AM

Posted 04 May 2008 - 04:44 PM

:thumbsup: to Bleeping Computer

Step #1

Please download Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware from Here or Here