Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Malware-laden Sony Vaio Won't Boot Without Memory Stick Inserted

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 MrDinga

MrDinga

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:54 AM

Posted 03 May 2008 - 10:25 AM

Hi all, I'm an IT professional that (like the rest of us) has taken on a task for a friend of mine whose original issue is that his PC will not boot up normally or shut down without a memory stick inserted into the front slot of his Sony Vaio laptop. Upon booting up his PC initially, I was immediately notified that he has a malware infection that his Norton Antivirus is detecting as attempting activity every few seconds. Armed with that information, I set out to remove the infection. Now comes the difficult part to describe. I have done SO MUCH WORK on this PC over the last week that I hope I can get across accurately the work that I've done.