Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Virtumonde, Smitfraud-c, Zlob And Svchost32.exe Error

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 laredo

laredo

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:28 AM

Posted 02 May 2008 - 08:22 PM

I am a school tech and a teacher asked me if I would look at his home computer and try to fix it. He said he has a lot of popups and a virus. He also said that his personal photo desktop background would only appear for a second, then the background would change to the default blue. He said he tried System Restore but there weren't any restore points, and he said he couldn't get Nortons to work.

I had hoped a simple Spybot cleanup would do the trick, but this thing is a total mess! I couldn't get anything done under the user's login because of constant failed attempts to automatically connect to the Internet (through automatic AOL (ugh!) settings) and continuous "Your Computer is Infected with a Virus!" warnings. The teacher admitted to clicking on that and downloading the fake anti-spyware programs because he said he thought the message was a legit one from Windows. I also found Limeware installed, but I haven't uninstalled it...yet.