Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Cryptexe, Win32.wor.autorun, Win32/bifrose.au

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 thegoldenvision

thegoldenvision

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:41 AM

Posted 01 May 2008 - 08:58 AM

Hi, I'll try to be clear and concise, but I'm not an expert with computers and I may over-explain things, or not mention other obvious things.

A few days ago I plugged my pendrive into computer at work and was told by AVG (which they have running there) that the pen contained a 'general trojan' whcih AVG gave me the option to eliminiate, and I did.

This obviously made me wonder if I had a problem with my own computer. I did a bit of googling about pendrives and trojans and discovered one tell-tale sign is bening unable to remove the pen safely through windows as a program is still writing to it. Anyway I messed around plugging unplugging my pen and found that yes I did have problems safely disconnecting. Also when i tried to open it (double click) through My Computer, rather than opening the removable disk drive I got a 'choose what program you want to use to open this file' box. Right click and 'open' would open the pen no-problem. Took pen back to work and got same message from AVG, eliminitated the trojan again!