Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Packed.win32.monder.gen

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Scooter63

Scooter63

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:29 PM

Posted 28 April 2008 - 03:04 PM

Hi there.

I'm new to all this and I hope I'm in the right place to ask for some help. My computer was infected with the Packed.Win32.Monder.gen virus as told to me by my f-secure antivirus software. Anyway, after searching the web, it seemed that cleaning with Combofix would do the trick. I downloaded the program along with the appropriate recovery console from Microsoft and ran Combofix. Anyway, it seems to have cleaned my computer except I have lost my background picture and cannot restore it - it throws the following message; Cannot find 'file:///C:/WINDOWS/privacy-danger/index.htm' Make sure the path or Internet adress is correct.

The internet is connected and everything else seems to be working as before. What can I do to fix up this problem?

Thank you in advance
Kind regards

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 ruby1

ruby1

a forum member

• Members
  • 2,375 posts
  •  

Posted 28 April 2008 - 04:10 PM

I presume you are unaware of the risks involved with running combofix unsupervised?

rigel Mod