Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Changing users automaically


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 1timcarter

1timcarter

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:06:52 PM

Posted 25 March 2005 - 12:32 PM

An office mate has a computer that automatically changes users if it sits idle for a few minutes. When the initial page comes up, it only shows one user "him", but after being idle for awhile, it changes to "notHim".

Going to the control panel and looking at users, it only shows two:

"HIM\admin" and "HIM\NOTHIM"

I'm new to XP so talk slow (also from Texas) :thumbsup:

Thanks,

Tim
Posted Image

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


m

#2 Leurgy

Leurgy

    Voted most likely


  • Members
  • 3,831 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
  • Local time:06:52 PM

Posted 26 March 2005 - 05:59 AM

Sounds like a security feature. If he leaves the computer without logging off it blocks someone else from accessing his files etc.

Typed that as slow as I could, hope it was ok. :thumbsup:

When the only tool you own is a hammer, every problem begins to resemble a nail. Abraham Maslo

**** We use our powers for good, not evil ****

 Trying to remove your data from the web is like trying to remove pee from a swimming pool





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users