Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help me choose which firewall to unstall

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 janbas

janbas

• Members
  • 80 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:37 PM

Posted 25 March 2005 - 06:15 AM

Hi

This is my first time posting here :thumbsup:

I want to install a firewall, but i can't make up my mind which one to choose.

I've heard that ZoneAlarm is pretty good, but i'm not sure, and i really would appreciate your input on this.

I have NOD32, Ad-aware, Spybot, Spywareblaster and BitDefender on my computer. Should I install firewall as well?

If i do have firewall on my computer, how can i know if it blocks viruses or doesn't allow valid files installed on my computer? i'm asking this bacause i'm afraid i will accidentally delete essintial system files.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 jgweed

jgweed

• Members
  • 28,473 posts
  •  

Posted 25 March 2005 - 06:46 AM

Either Zone Alarm, or my personal choice, Sygate Personal Firewall are both excellent choices. Certainly installing a firewall will block a lot of problems BEFORE they would ever show up on, for example, Ad-Aware SE.
I would recommend you read a very good tutoral explaining how firewalls work, which will answer, I think, many of your questions:

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/Und...alls-tut60.html

Regards,
John