Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

First Computer Build

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 jazzman831

jazzman831

• Members
  • 40 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:39 AM

Posted 13 April 2008 - 08:54 PM

Much as the title suggests, I will be building a new computer within the next two months but I've never done it before. I have done a LOT of research over the last couple weeks, and I certainly feel like a pro... but I figured I'd ask anyways ;) I'm pretty sure that everything plays nice together, but I don't know anything about brand names or reputations or anything.

The list can be found here: https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/Wishli...+suggestions%3F

I will mostly be using it for general web surfing, etc, but I will be doing some gaming as well. Usually I stick to older games, but I need something which can play GHIII (specs here -- I've already purchased this game and my laptop won't play it :thumbsup:) and Assassin's Creed (specs [url="http://"http://pc.ign.com/articles/858/858284p1.html"]here[/url]). I don't think I'll do any OC'ing, and I'd like to keep it relatively ugradeable.

Groundwork:
*MoBo: GIGABYTE GA-MA69G-S3H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI ATX AMD
*CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400+ 2.8GHz Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core (OEM, no cooler)
*CPU Cooler: ARCTIC COOLING ALPINE 7 92mm