Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Boot Failure on Windows XP Pro - Please Help

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 cbaker

cbaker

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:47 AM

Posted 23 March 2005 - 12:56 PM

Hi all, I am a newbie to this site but I have come here and gotten some wonderful information. Hoping you all can help me out now....

I have a Deskmate laptop running Windows XP Professional, bought it on ebay, used, of course, and it has run pretty well for a good 6-months or so (aside from melting the power cords, which the seller apparently had no foreknowledge of... :thumbsup: ...but anyway...). and no internal battery, which I knew before I bought it.

Well, it has 4-USB ports on the side, which have been dying off 1 by 1, and when something is plugged into the dead ports by mistake, they restart/short the computer and it reboots. Yippee. Well, another one died tonight, and when trying it, it rebooted the system only this time I got a boot failure. Specifically:

"searching for boot record from cdrom...not found", and then....

"boot failure - reboot and select proper boot device or insert bood media in selected boot device, press any key when ready".