Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Xp Is Running Slow

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Rich F

Rich F

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:53 PM

Posted 25 March 2008 - 06:36 PM

Hello,
frustrated
I am a newbie to bc.com and hope someone can help me with an ongoing freezing issue with my Dell Latitude D630 laptop. I have run various anti-virus, anti-spyware and registry cleanup programs but the issue continues and I am becoming frustrated as I have already reformatted the hard drive and re-installed windows once and I rreally don't want to go through that again. In looking at my event logs I consistently get an Event ID 7000 "The SDDMI2 service failed to start due to the following error: The system cannot find the file specified." error and I am really not sure if this is what is causing my performance issues. In any case my system will freeze or run really slowly every hour or so for about ten minutes and it doesn't matter if I am connected to the internet or not. I think I have said enough to get started. Please help.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 55,870 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:53 PM

Posted 25 March 2008 - 06:56 PM

Related post worth reading: http://www.dellcommunity.com/supportforums...essage.id=51169

Louis

#3 ///

///

• Members
  • 148 posts
  •  

Posted 25 March 2008 - 07:51 PM