Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Computer "hangs" On Virus/ad/spy Scans

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 txmugglemama

txmugglemama

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:02 AM

Posted 24 March 2008 - 10:09 AM

:thumbsup: Hi everyone...bleepingcomputer newbie here, so please let me know if more info is needed. Here's the problem. About a month or so ago, my daily Norton Anti-Virus scan started "hanging". It usually happened around c:\windows\ie7\reg00561 (although the numbers following "reg" varied). I tried running an AdAware2007 scan...it hung too. As did SpySweeper, CA Anti-Virus and any other virus/ad/spyware scanner I tried. Since they all had issues, I thought that the problem might lay within Internet Explorer 7, so I tried to uninstall. I got as far as the point where it "Updates Registry"...it hung there just like with the scans. When it hangs, I have to turn the computer off at the on/off button with no "shutdown". So, I am at a loss as to what to do. My computer SEEMS to run OK, but I haven't been able to run any type of "security scan" in almost 6 weeks, so something is obviously wrong. Any help/ideas would be appreciated. Please let me know what else I should do or other info to provide for assistance. Thanks in advance. Tracy

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 garmanma

garmanma

Computer Masochist