Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Unable To Scan For Wireless Networks

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 seedsofchaos

seedsofchaos

• Members
  • 41 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:54 AM

Posted 21 March 2008 - 03:38 PM

First of all, I'm a complete Linux newbie so please forgive the ignorance on some things.

iwlist scan reveals:

lo, eth0, and eth1 all do not support scanning and reports 'no such device' on eth1

When I do a iwconfig though it shows lo and eth0 as no wireless extensions. eth1 on the other hand it shows my wireless card:

IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:any/off Nickname:"COMPUTERNAME"
Mode: Ad-Hoc Cell:Invalid
RTS thr: off Fragment thr: off

Or at least I think that would be showing my wireless card...

Problem is I attempt to: ifconfig eth1 up and get SIOCSIFFLAGS: no such file or directory

If I iwlist eth1 scan it just tells me the device doesn't support scanning again.

Any push in the right direction is much appreciated.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Miljet

Miljet

• Members
  • 66 posts
  •  

Posted 22 March 2008 - 07:56 AM

Try this link. It is what worked for me. http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=6...;highlight=gilf

#3 seedsofchaos

seedsofchaos
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 41 posts
  •  

Posted 25 March 2008 - 10:51 AM

Unfortunately this old box of mine can't run Ubuntu.