Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

The New Virus That Wont Go Away

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 rhysj

rhysj

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:00 AM

Posted 18 March 2008 - 09:13 PM

Hi everyone. I'm a tech, and I have a virus at work that apparently wont go away. This is my first post, and I've been reading these forums for a couple days now.

the virus would use windows notifiers, a clone of windows defender, and other things to tell you your computer is going bad. also, it used a blue screen active desktop. it disabled task manager, and I think norton.

i disengaged the drive and used kaspersky rootkit scan and thought i got it then 3 days later, it was back. I don't know if it came back or if the user reinfected, but I tend to think reinfected. The second time, I kasperky didn't see it. I uninstalled Norton from the machine, installed NOD32 and then scanned the drive while hooked into another computer again.

nothing showed up in kasperky or NOD32 but it did 3 days prior. This time I used smitfruadfix and had to change the name of the exe. I THINK the virus is gone, all signs of it are... but now the network connection always says "weak signal" with a CAT-5 and it wont renew the ip. the loss of network happened before i removed the virus.