Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

harddrive continuously loses space

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 volta06

volta06

• Members
  • 14 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:57 PM

Posted 17 March 2005 - 10:39 PM

Hi,
This is my first time to these forums, but I am fairly computer literatue. Anyways, lately, I have been noticing sluggish performance from my pc. It also seems to be constantly losing space on the harddrive. For example, two days ago i had 107gbs left. Without intstalling, downloading, etc, today I turn it on and I only have 96gbs left! I don't know if that is a virus problem or something else, but it is bothering me.

Also, today i checked my task manager, and I noticed that i had vsmon.exe. I have heard that this is a pretty bad worm. Can anyone help me get rid of it? would this have anything to do with my harddrive problem? Point me to some links if this has already been discussed. Thanks a ton.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Leurgy

Leurgy

Voted most likely

• Members
  • 3,831 posts
  •  

Posted 17 March 2005 - 10:57 PM

Hi volta 06 and welcome to BC

vsmon.exe is part of ZoneAlarm so thats ok.

A worm virus can write useless data to your hard drive in an attempt to fill it up and crash your machine.

What AV are you using? If its not picking it up one of the online ones might help. Take a look at this site.