Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Missing Icons Etc

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Sagedog

Sagedog

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:15 AM

Posted 14 March 2008 - 11:24 AM

Newbie here requiring assistance please.
On starting my laptop from cold, everything appears to be fine, except that after the password screen, I see my wallpaper and nothing else, i.e. no icons or task bar. I can correct this by opening task manager (ctrl, alt, del) and logging off the user. Then when I re-input my password, my icons etc. re-appear. I assumed this was a registry problem and used a registry cleaner, but there is no change. Do you fine ladies and gentlemen have any suggestions please?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Cyb3r_Ninj@

Cyb3r_Ninj@

• Members
  • 169 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:15 PM

Posted 14 March 2008 - 01:34 PM

I would check the Task Manager -> Performance tab when you log in from a cold boot. Pay attention to the CPU and PF usage counters.

In my experience, this type of behavior is usually because the OS is loading software settings in the background and will correct if you wait it out. If you see that your CPU usage counter is at 100% after logging in, there are processes loading in the background and your CPU just doesn't have the available resources to load everything instantaneously from a cold boot.