Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Worst Problem....ever!

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 jfiore3

jfiore3

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:58 AM

Posted 12 March 2008 - 08:18 PM

Ok, so I am a newbie to this forum, so if I make a mistake I am sorry. Here is my issue: 4 new computers all with the same components. Here is what is inside:

Shuttle SX38P2 Pro
Intel E8400 @3.0 ghz (not overclocked)
4Gbs of G. Skill DDR2 RAM (Approved from Shuttle website)
Lite On SATA DVD Burner
150GB WD Raptor Drive
500GB WD 7200rpm Drive
XFX 8600 GT PCI-E Video card

Here is my problem: I go to install Windows XP Pro SP2 (legit copies) and the file copy from the CD to disk is very slow (approx. 10 - 15 minutes). Then the GUI installation screen gets stuck at 34 minutes. Now, here is the kicker....2 of these installs worked without a hitch!!! I have been working on the other 2 for over 3 weeks now, on and off. Here is what I have done to try and fix the issue:

1. Tried different hard drive (No Dice!)
2. Tested RAM with Memtest (1 stick was bad, so I removed it and the other tested fine)
3. Changed Motherboards from Shuttle (No luck here)
4. Changed SATA cables from DVD drive