Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

memory

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 tenthouse1

tenthouse1

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:14 PM

Posted 16 March 2005 - 10:43 AM

I'm a bleeping novice. I have windows xp with 526mb of memory yet my systom information shows approx capacity of 50,000mb with 38,000 available. Always receiving notices that my memory is too low.....deleted most of the programs. help

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 tg1911

tg1911

Lord Spam Magnet

• Members
  • 19,274 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:14 PM

Posted 16 March 2005 - 11:40 AM

Have you updated your antivirus, and ran a scan lately?

Are you using these basic security programs?

aČ free-a complementary product to antivirus software which is specialized in protection against harmful software. Antivirus software often features an inadequate protection against Trojans, Dialers and Spyware. aČ fills this gap.
Ad-Aware-A good program similar to SpyBot S & D.
Spybot S&D-Detects and removes spyware, of different types, from your computer.
SpywareBlaster-A good program that prevents spyware from being installed on your computer in the first place. This program is always running in the background, protecting your computer. It prevents the installation of bad active X controls found in web pages.