Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hardware Or Software (virus) Issue? Bleep.... Bleep, Bleep

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 mickyd67

mickyd67

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:44 PM

Posted 09 March 2008 - 02:57 PM

Hi all - a newbie here, so sorry if this has been asked before.

I have a HP Pavilion DV2188ea laptop. Since Friday night I've had a bit of a problem with it. When it's off, and I press the on button it is making a "PC Bleep" 1 bleep, followed by 2 shorter bleeps in quick succession. When I say PC Bleep I mean the loud bleep that older PCís used to make (well, thatís what I remember from back in the day)

It takes me about 15 attempts to get into Vista; and when I am in there doesn't appear to be a problem.

I've run a virus scan, using Symantec AV, on all User Accounts on the laptop. Nothing has been found.

I've removed and re-inserted the RAM - as it was suggested that might be the problem.

It seemed to 'fix itself' yesterday, rebooted it on a number of occasion, no problem. Tried it again this morning and it started again. About 10 attempts later I got in. The thing is, I am now reluctant to switch the laptop off - I think I'll just leave it in hibernation/ standby mode.

Anyone any idea what the cause of this problem might be?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 55,880 posts
  •