Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Dell Lcd Monitor Ceased Functioning

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 teabie

teabie

• Members
  • 26 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:41 AM

Posted 09 March 2008 - 07:38 AM

Hello everyone,

I'm a complete noob when it comes to computers, so I'm hoping I can explain my problem clearly enough and also understand everyone's suggestions!

I have a Dell Dimension 4600 since 2004, so I reckon it's kinda reaching its capacity. Anyhow, I had some problems with my CPU a couple of months before my monitor seized up. I'll list them out, in case they offer more clues to diagnostics.

Whenever I boot my CPU, it says Diskette 0 not found and I always have to press F2 to configure the time and date. After a while, I realised that if I don't switch off the AC socket, I can bypass this process whenever I boot up. I think the "CMOS battery" is dying, but I'm really not sure.

Some months before, the monitor started flickering badly. I solved the problem "temporarily" by installing the newest NVIDIA drivers. Nothing much happened afterwards.

I just moved house and I didn't use my PC for 3 months or so, preferring to use my Dell laptop because of the convenience. Just 3 days ago, I set it up after getting a computer table and everything worked OK until this afternoon.