Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Vista Install Will Not Complete - Rebooting

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 kosaic

kosaic

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:23 PM

Posted 29 February 2008 - 11:50 AM

Hi Everyone,

So here's the scoop ...

I have a custom Built PC that I have been running for 1+ years now, with Vista, that worked flawlessly.

Last evening, I changed my CPU from an E6400 to an E8400 , running on a Gigabyte 965p-ds3 v3.3 motherboard (motherboard is not new, always been installed) The CPU was the ONLY change.

The first time I booted up, I went into the Bios (which I ahd just updated) and set to "load defaults"

I then rebooted the machine, and it picked up the new CPU no problem in the post screen.

Vista started to boot, then went off into some odd Thread Dump process, with an error related to ACPI .... (cannot remember this exact error as I only saw it once)

From there Vista would not boot at all, the system just keep rebooting after Vista "starts" to load. I see the splash screen, the reboot.

So, I got out my Vista Ultimate DVD (just downloaded a new copy from MSDN last evening) and did a complete re-install (formatting HDD and all)