Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Code 41

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Moki

Moki

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:40 AM

Posted 28 February 2008 - 07:07 PM

Hello! This is my first time to post, hope someone can help me!! My Memorex DVD+R 16X player just quit working. Device manager says "Windows successfully loaded the device driver for this hardware but cannot find the hardware device. (Code 41)" I've tried removing upper/lower entries in the registry, removed all traces of Itunes, my new (about 3 weeks ago) HP C5240 photosmart printer, searched for anything Roxio, checked all my cables, made sure that it's set at Master, and now I'm stuck.

The player has power, just nothing happens when I put in a CD. Before this happened, I did get some message about it needing a new codec, but I haven't seen that message (of course) since the whole thing just quit.

I can't resinstall or search a disk for updated drivers, since I can't use the installation disc. I tried to see if there were some newer version online, but was unable to locate anything at all.

My player has been working just fine, I don't use it all that much. The only thing I can think of is there is some remnant of software from one of those three apps that I deleted, or I do remember deleting a bunch of Nero stuff awhile back, since I don't use Nero.