Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Advice On New Laptops

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 sokolnikov

sokolnikov

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:45 PM

Posted 25 February 2008 - 02:52 PM

I'm new to bleepingcomputer,

I am looking for a recommendation for a new laptop. My current laptop is fairly old and the motherboard is starting to fail (I keep getting blue screens - I am going to post for advice on fixing it in another section, but I think it's time to give up on this thing), and I think it makes more sense at this point for me to buy a new laptop than try to fix this one, since my warranty has been up for a couple of years now.

So here's my situation: I'm a graduate student in Biology so I don't have much money, but I need a decent laptop. I use the machine for relatively intense data analysis as well as an interface with various data loggers out at field sites, so basically I'm looking for advice on what brands/models are durable with a good warranties. I also need a relatively fast processor and a lot of RAM. I'm not using this machine for gaming though, so I'm not particularly interested in good videocards or anything like that.

So my specific questions are:

1. what brands are known for durability and good warranties/customer service