Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Loss Of Sound After System Reboot

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 ndarwich

ndarwich

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:57 PM

Posted 19 February 2008 - 04:39 PM

Hello, this is my first time posting and I would like to say this website is very informative and helpful. Thanks a lot

Anyways, after following the tutorials and whatnot, I discovered the only way to disinfect my computer from the trojans, worms, spyware, ect. (I had a nasty case of the Vundo Trojan Virus) was to do a system reformat. I did a hard, destructive reformat following the instructions from the CD. I have reinstalled Microsoft Office and my antivirus program. Everything seems to be running, however, it appears that I lost sound. My speakers are on with power however, there is no sound and my computer says no audio device found. I have an Emachines T6524 with Windows XP Media Center Edition with the provided analog speakers. I have no idea what to do.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 lowtek_otc

lowtek_otc

• Members
  • 280 posts
  •  

Posted 19 February 2008 - 04:54 PM