Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows Xp Installer Errors

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 s_m_f

s_m_f

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:25 PM

Posted 17 February 2008 - 06:48 PM

First, let me start by apologizing if I've posted in the wrong area. This is my first time posting in this forum, or any forum for that matter. I am attempting to find help with a problem that is extremely aggravating, as I'm sure most problems are.

The problem that I am encountering is with Windows Installer. I have found that I have the latest version, from what I have read on the internet anyway. Of course, I could be wrong, it wouldn't be the first time. I have version 3.1. The problem I have is when I shut down, I am receiving an error message when it states that I am uploading updates. The problem is that when it is uploading these updates, I get a message that says "The instruction at 0x008x1113 reference memory at 0x003a3f68. The memory could not be read." This only happens at shutdown. Never while I'm using my computer. It also states "msiexec" I have researched the problem online and found numerous other people who are having a problem with a code the same, different numbers obviously but their codes are all with svchost.exe not "msiexec" as mine is.