Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hard Drive Dying?

• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 lakelady

lakelady

• Members
  • 23 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:28 AM

Posted 13 February 2008 - 09:07 PM

Hi, my mother handed me her Win XP computer 2 weeks ago and I have come to the conclusion that the hard drive may be on it's way out. I'm no expert and seeing the way she was managing her files and the outdated antivirus I think there is still a possibility of infection.

I have noticed in the forums you like to see hijack this reports but I am very skeptical that I will be able to install it on the computer in question as it won't shut down unless you press and hold the power button untill it does! Would a dxdiag report be usefull in distinguishing between an infection and a bad hard disk?

Here are some of the other symptoms:

-one hour startup time
-attempting to open the control panel gives the runDLL32 error and when it closes all desktop icons and the task bar dissappear and your only choice is to hold the power button till it shuts off
-windows explorer stops responding after a couple of mins and gives the runDLL32 error
-Ctrl+Alt+Del causes the Task manager to open and stop responding
-clicking on Properties for the C drive or various other folders either does nothing or the runDLL32 error