Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Newbie Here.

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Chrissy54

Chrissy54

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:17 PM

Posted 13 February 2008 - 08:22 AM

I just got this vista window and it didn't come with a Word program so I can't open any of my stuff I saved on CD can anyone help me I'm so confused and frustrated.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 jgweed

jgweed

• Staff Emeritus
  • 28,473 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:17 PM

Posted 13 February 2008 - 08:33 AM

You may download a free Word viewer from Microsoft that will allow you to view (but not create) Word documents.
If you want something more useful, you can download the free, open source suite, OpenOffice.org., which additionally has a spreadsheet and presentation module; OO.o is compatible with Microsoft files.
Regards,
John
Whereof one cannot speak, thereof one should be silent.

#3 Chrissy54

Chrissy54
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:17 PM

Posted 13 February 2008 - 08:38 AM

Thanks John I will try that. Now the scary part is trying to download something. My ex always did the downloading and I have never downloaded anything is it easy.

#4 groovicus

groovicus

• Security Colleague
  • 9,963 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:17 PM

Posted 13 February 2008 - 11:24 AM