Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Unable To Remove Virtumonde Permanently

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 watingroom

watingroom

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:53 AM

Posted 10 February 2008 - 01:50 PM

Help! I'm a newbie unable to get rid of Virtumonde. I'm running XP....have run Spybot SD, ADAware, Spyware Docotr, FxVMonde, VundoFix, Spyware Blaster, SpyHunter, and VirtumundoBegone in Safemode and normal mode. All detected and removed Virtumonde (and a list of others) but it reappears on the next scan every time. I can barely access the internet now without locking up although I don't get many popups. I'm a step away from striping the drive if this doesn't work... any ideas, I'll post my HijackThis log.

Attached Files

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 SifuMike

SifuMike

malware expert

• Members
  • 15,385 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:53 AM

Posted 13 February 2008 - 11:59 PM

Hello watingroom,

We will run ComboFix.

You need to disable your Symantec/Norton Antivirus, Spyware Doctor and Spybot Teatimer before running ComboFix, as they will prevent it from running.

To disable Norton Antivirus:
Please navigate to the system tray on the bottom right hand corner and look for a Posted Image sign.
  • right-click it -> chose "Disable Auto-Protect."