I always favor uninstall old-reinstall new.
However there is nothing set in stone. It is possible you may lose something you can't get back if you uninstall first.
In the case of spybot, it really doesn't matter. First thing you want to do after install\upgrade is to check for updates anyways. Any custom settings you have made you will have to re-set.
As far as mediamonkey is concerned (never used it), you may lose playlists, .ini files, registration info, etc, in an uninstall.
Bottom line.....do some homework first. MediaMonkey Support.
I'm concerned that if I don't uninstall and the new install "overwrites" the old data, there will be a big chunk of used hard drive that can't be cleared up.
That happens less frequently these days. A well written upgrade will only add new\ upgrade old files where they are required.
Edited by HitSquad, 08 February 2008 - 08:49 AM.