Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

C C Cleaner Reg Issue

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Paulrenno

Paulrenno

• Members
  • 302 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:33 AM

Posted 07 February 2008 - 06:37 AM

I am new to C C CLeaner and have recently used the registry tool to delete reg entries. The programme asks if you want to do a back up which I selected to, which saves to My Documents. This file contains all the entries deleted, and ends with .reg.

I am told that if something happens, I can simply r/c on the icon and select MERGE. I have tried that as an experiment, and all it does is opens up all the entries in Wordpad.

My question is, how do you merge these entries back into the registry?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 alumbagh

alumbagh

• Members
  • 133 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:33 PM

Posted 07 February 2008 - 06:50 AM

It could be a file association problem.
Right click on one of your .reg files choose "open with" and see what prog is listed as the one to open the file.
If it is Wordpad, go down to "choose a program", look for "registry cleaner", click on that and then click on "always use this program for this type of file" (or words to that effect, I've forgotten the exact wording).

See if that does the trick.

#3 Paulrenno

Paulrenno
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 302 posts
  •